American Culinary Federation National Award Winners

ACF & AAC 2011 Chef Of The Year, Hall of Fame and More

Posted by on Jul 29

Note: TheCooksDen may receive a small commission from our partner should you choose to purchase this item

The American Culinary Federation held the 2011 National Convention and Awards Ceremony during July 22-26 in Dallas, TX. Over 1,200 chefs and food service industry professionals were on hand to participate in seminars, cooking demos, trade shows, and hands-on workshops.

Featured celebrity guests at this year's event included Bryan Caswell of The Next Iron Chef and Best In Smoke, White House chef and senior policy advisor Sam Kass, and Good Eats host Alton Brown -- who also made some astonishing remarks concerning molecular gastronomy during the convention.

A big part of the event was the annual ACF Awards Ceremony and the American Academy of Chefs Awards, both honoring food professionals who stand out in the industry. Here are just some of the awards that were given:

USA's Chef of the Year: Todd Kelly of the Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza.

Pastry Chef of the Year: Kyongran "Alex" Hwang of Atlanta's Cherokee Town and Country Club.

Chef Professionalism Award: Russell Scott of Windermere's Isleworth Golf and Country Club in Florida.

Chef Educator of the Year: Dina Altieri, chef and instructor at Chicago's Kendall College.

Student Chef of the Year: Aaron Guajardo III, graduate of Joliet Junior College.

2011 American Academy of Chefs Culinary Hall of Fame Inductees: Anthony Graffeo, John Kaufmann, William Lyman, Bruce Riddell, and Jim Doherty (honorary).

Source:  EON BusinessWire

Comments are closed.